rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

Monday Causes Sandwiches

I had a bad day. My new expensive toys weren't much use, I slept poorly and at the wrong hour, I was late on making my RaW News Bulletin by an hour and an assignment for Topics In Number Theory pretty much made me want to quit my degree.

Sandwiches are beautiful. This one in particular is deadly or sacrilegious for a huge proportion of my friends, but it was so tasty. I especially like the detail in the centre of the picture – I think the texture is quite clear. The crumbs and the irregularity of the slicing are also exactly the right kind of imperfection. I wanted a huge depth of field for this, to make what was quite a tiny sandwich seem gargantuan, and hence the long exposure time. I think I nailed it.

I cropped the picture as, unfortunately, a bit of the plate was too close to the camera and ruined the shot a little, but an upshot of the crop was that it's now 16:9 and I can have it fit perfectly as my desktop background whenever I want to feel really hungry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.