rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

The Bus Diverts

This photograph followed a hefty number of coincidences. I slept in, I caught the same bus as my radio show co-host Hannah Eloise and a diversion around Leamington's Parade put the bus at the crossroads of Willes Road, Clarendon Street and Warwick Street at a moment of some pretty interesting traffic. I originally had way too much exposure in this shot, so I played around a bit in Photoshop and brought out the shadows a bit more.

Today's choice of photograph really was difficult. I had me and Hannah in a lift's mirror, which I cooled and flipped to basically get a nice photograph of me and my camera. Another did justice to my friend Lauren's very pretty face, with a navy blue sky, streetlights, the red brickwork of Arthur Vick and Tocil all framed by autumnal leaves on the trees and the ground. Hopefully I'll put some of my best photographs in an album somewhere else and they will both be included, along with another headlights in long exposure, this time on Warwick campus's University Road, with night sky and a streetlamp-lit autumnal tree.

I chose this one because there's so much going on – and Sorensen and Deane both commented on its quality. I like the freakishly still man standing on the corner and the way leaves dangle above like some kind of hat on the rest of the picture. The shopfronts and hanging signs provide so much colour, too, and there's something quite fantastic about a busy town. All those people, brushing past each other, not knowing where any other is going or having the faintest idea of all the things going on around them. It's likely nobody in the photo ever even saw the camera.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.