Exit stage left

By NessD

Elsie and Norm

Late backblip

A whole morning off. Time to catch up on the rugby and Strictly :-).

Then K headed off for a dress rehearsal while I spent the entire afternoon ironing. K is off overseas again with work then we're up in the NE next weekend and then he's overseas again. I think he has one night at home in that period but we're likely to get home at 11pm and he'll be out of the door with his suitcase by 7am the next morning. This requires some pre-planning and advance organisation.

This evening was the 150th anniversary of the first performance by the group that is now known as the Chesil Theatre. There first performance was Macbeth followed by a farce in St John's House, Winchester. This evening was a celebratory dinner in the same venue but this time performing Elsie and Norm's Macbeth as supper theatre. K was doing various stage management roles, I'd been roped in as a helper(?). Lots of raffle ticket sales later, the draw, de-rigging the set, packing things up, loading the van, walking round to the theatre and unloading the van, I think I'd earned my free meal.

Great night although getting to bed around 1 is probably not going to help matters tomorrow.

Vx

Edit: I seem to have glossed over the bit where a step to the stage gave way while I was carrying screening and I fell and landed on my hip. The look on K's face is one I hope I never have to see again. I wouldn't mind but I'd avoided the steps where 2 people had already had issues. Oh and when they went to put the step back in situ it had "this step MUST be fixed to the stage" written on it. I was absolutely fine, I knew it was going to be on the way down and in a perverse way it felt good to have fallen and been OK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.