Houseonahill6

By Houseonahill6

Great Oaks from Little Acorns grow !

It has been rather dull and windy today. Managed to nip out quickly and grab a small branch from the Oak tree which had landed in the garden.

The Oak has to be one of my Favourite trees. There are some fine examples around and no wonder it is often referred to as King of the Forest.
The Lord of the Isles in Scotland used oak to make a whole fleet of Oak warships. In fact warships continued to have a connection with the Battleship HMS Royal Oak . Tragically she was sunk at anchor, in Scapa Flow, by a German submarine in World War ll with the loss of 834 men.

The oak leaf was also part of the school logo where I worked for over 10 years and where both my boys attended. There were plenty of oak trees in the school grounds full of grey Squirrels ,pigeons and mini beasts handy for when we ran a wildlife club during the lunch break. I hope that some of those who came along can now recognise some trees and animals.

In the news yesterday it was revealed that a large number of adults have difficulty identifying trees with the average adult able to ID just five species. I must admit I do find it quite hard from their shape alone but most trees have an easily recognisable leaf and I do know which tree acorns and Conkers come from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.