Scoots, Shoots & Leaves

By TerriG

Gratitude Tree

This lovely tree is one I've blipped before (The Giving Tree) and is attached to the Little Free Library, which I've also blipped. Today there is this wonderful invitation to write a gratitude blessing and tie it to the frame next to the tree. Cards, pens and ribbons are provided. There were a variety of gratitudes expressed - family, chocolate, hollidays (sic), self, meals cooked by mom. I expressed my gratitude for neighbors who create inviting spaces for sharing and communication.

This reminded me of a project that evolved out of two old elm trees that were slated to be cut down across the street from the apartment I lived in for many years. They were diseased and the felling of them was inevitable. I made some prayer flags out of card stock and strung them around the trees; I wrote some blessings and left some blank for neighbors to write their thoughts and feelings. It was so dear. There were sad farewells. There were stories about people's memories of the trees -- one old man wrote about leaning his bike against them when he was a young boy. It was heartbreaking to see - and hear - those trees come down, but the shared experience made it just a little easier to take.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.