Birthday Unicycle Challenge...

A couple of years ago, I decided to celebrate my birthday by giving myself a wee challenge. I'd just learned to ride a unicycle so I decided to try and cycle the length of the Forth Road Bridge which is just over the hill from my house.

Since then I've toyed with the idea of trying to unicycle my Edinburgh commute so what better day than my birthday. I emailed the bridge, got the okay from them to cross, got the day off, dropped the kids off at school and headed through to Edinburgh.

I actually got the calculation of how long it would take me, just right and managed to hobble up to Haymarket station almost exactly two and a half hours after dropping the kids off. I didn't tackle so of the bigger hills but I went all the way from Inverkeithing across the bridge in one shot, A90 path all in one shot and the Davidson Mains to Roseburn in one shot. Couple of rests to stretch the knees and a couple of wee walks up the bigger hills but 95% all done in the saddle.

Very trying, very sweaty and that last mile was murder but was rewarded with Mrs TFP, TFP Dad and TFP Mum coming in to meet me for lunch.

Here's the Strava record of it and hopefully I can string an interesting video together of it later, or as interesting as 2 and half hours of looking through my legs at cycle paths can get.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.