Hirst Lock

I was due a fall from grace and that, quite predictably, occurred today. Nothing has flowed. Problems have emerged from nowhere that have flushed the day away and all my energy with it. I had a date to go into Leeds to meet Forrest tonight to watch the second installment of the Hunger Games but that didn't really flow either. We'd forgotten that Wednesday is a bad day for cinema. There were hoards of people so we couldn't get seats for the showing we wanted, which has meant for a very late night for me. I lost all our pool games while we were waiting but it was worth it in the end. I thought the film was amazing. Very little seemed to have been changed from the book and all the most memorable scenes were down wonderfully well. I don't think I've enjoyed a film adaptation more. The whole cast was brilliant. The scene which gives the book its title (Girl on Fire) was done better than I could possibly have imagined. It must have been totally thrilling for the author to see the world of her imagination come to cinematic life in this way.

I took another run to Hirst Wood at lunchtime, enjoying the same kind of muted sunshine and beautiful skies as yesterday. The cloud formations have been quite exquisite these last couple of days and I would dearly loved to have been out in the hills making the most of the sensational backdrops they've been providing. There was some very striking altocumulus undulatus today and at least I was able to get this shot as an example.

I have to crawl into bed now. Thanks so much for yesterday's generosity. I'm not sure I deserve you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.