All Aboard

I keep trying to get into a rhythm with my running but it just hasn't been happening. So much work to do that I struggle to get out at the start of the day, or at lunchtime, and then despite best intentions I inevitably end up blobbing in the evening. After getting home late the desire to spend some time on my blip is far more attractive than heading out on the streets for a run. I think the trouble is that I've been lacking any kind of goal to provide motivation.

However, at the weekend I challenged Forrest and one of his housemates to do the Park Run in Leeds in 3 weeks time. I'm hoping that this will encourage them to get out and do a bit of training - and it's just what I've needed too. I brought my running kit in to work and enjoyed a lovely run at lunchtime along the canal to Hirst Lock, a quick circuit of the woods, and back. The beeches looked beautiful today in the soft muted sunshine.

I could have blipped from Hirst Wood but I'm drawn to this because there is a story here. The boat was looking a little the worse for wear and I loved the way the leaves were encroaching all over the decking. I do rather like a bit of decay and decrepitude so I stopped a while to take a few arty kind of pictures. I thought I might get an interesting shot across the prow of the boat so I put a foot on board to get the angle I was after, which (obviously) had the effect of pushing the boat out into the canal and leaving me straddling the gap! What was I thinking? Fortunately, I managed to recover my poise - and the towpath - without falling in, but not without eliciting some noise from the bowels of the boat in the process. It had never occurred to me that it might be occupied! I ran off fairly smartly but on the way back there was a couple giving it a bit of a makeover. I guess I really must have disturbed them!

I spend a lot of time moaning about bad times at the office but I've actually enjoyed another productive day, making three in a row, and that should be acknowledged. I can cope much better when I'm getting things ticked off at a good rate. It could just be a case of necessity winning the day. I've not got much choice at the moment. It's all rather mission critical.

Thanks for all the encouragement and great feedback on yesterday's blip. I think I'm going to be emboldened to just go for it if the opportunity arises.

To finish, my blip family is growing. I introduced the wonderful Wharfedale Bex to you the other day, and she (not a he as I originally assumed!) has introduced iwalk isee iphone in turn . Worth a look. My good mate Identity also posted quite a face today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.