War Memorial

When I've visited the church on previous occasions I'd always assumed the cross in the churchyard was the war memorial as that's where wreaths were laid. But as I arrived this morning I noticed all these crosses planted in the grass... it turns out this is in fact the Berkswell War Memorial. I thought it was rather a lovely structure.

STORY STARTS CHALLENGE
Calling all you budding writers out there! Every day for a week, starting on Sunday 1st December, I will publish a photograph and the beginning paragraph to a story - now I'm no Agatha Christie or George Elliot, so don't expect a Pullitzer Prize winning account from me. Your challenge is to write the next paragraph or two that will move the story on. You can do this in one of two ways. either by visiting my journal and leaving your paragraph as a comment there or by leaving a link to your own journal page where you can post a blip to illustrate your part of the story (if you like) and your next paragraph - please tag your journal entry 'Story Starts Challenge' so you can be found through a search. At the end of the week I will endeavour to pull together some of the stories for everyone to enjoy. This may just be a total disaster, but hey, we won't know unless we try will we?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.