Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A North East Christmas Institution

Feeling quite a bit better, particularly after a hair cut. (My hairdresser is lovely and takes a lot of time to make sure the cut is "just so".) I managed a big supermarket shop. Yes, there are just 2 of us plus 2 cats here........

I was meeting Julie for the launch event of Books on the Tyne, a mini book festival organised by the library service in association with the Lit and Phil (another Newcastle institution). I drove in and was very lucky to find a central parking place. Plus the machine charged me only £1 for the stay!

In the centre of the city, people were queuing in an orderly fashion to see Fenwicks' Christmas windows. There were lots of families. The parents and grandparents will have been brought here as children too. Quite small infants were removed from prams and held up to see the windows. There was much bewilderment on the faces on the tiny ones, but older children were loving the depictions of fairy stories.

Taking a photograph proved tricky. I wanted to capture the faces of children as they looked at the scenes; I had to flatten myself against a window and try to look along. Unlike in India, I found it very difficult to engage with people. They were all absorbed in their family groups and not interested in chatting to the mad old woman with no children and a camera.

I have chosen this image because is sums up the experience. Nana is really interested in the reaction of the child and is willing him to love it all. I like the reflection of her face in the window.

PS This was the Snow Queen window.

PPS Julie and I heard David Almond - who lives in my village - read from two books. He is such a good writer - witty and profound. (Best not to mention the singer.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.