Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

St George Wharf

I went up to London this morning (by train) to take my camera to get it's sensor cleaned. I find it gets dirty so quickly, a drawback of the Nikon D800, if I am to believe all the threads on the internet on this subject. Admittedly I am constantly changing lenses, so the sensor is bound to get dirty. The last time I took it to Nikon head office who kept it for 7 days and did a rubbish job. This time, on the advice of Gray's of Westminster, I took it to Fixation in Vauxhall. Not the most salubrious part of London but the store is a treasure trove of camera expertise. They do it while you wait, so it took 45 minutes while I had a coffee at an Italian café nearby. It was not cheap, mind you, but at least I was not to be parted from my camera for long.

Walking back to the station I did a little detour to look at the new luxury development of apartments on the river known as St George Wharf. Here a one bedroom apartment will set you back anything from about £600 000 upwards. Although they do have a lovely view of my favourite building.. This is the development where there was that helicopter crash in January, where the helicopter collided into a crane working on this building site.

Thankfully the weekend is upon us. Tonight we are going to see Thomas perform with the Surrey County Youth Orchestra at the theatre in Dorking. I think it is the first time I have had to book tickets through a box office to see my child perform!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.