Clutter Clearing Continues

Same backdrop as yesterday; different container!

This pot jug with its saucer is neat,
And the bows and the basketwork, sweet,
But ceramics- and pottery-
Collecting's a lottery
When sets are so rarely complete.

The limerick is just for fun - this set, as far as I know, is complete in itself. It used to sit on my dressing-table gathering dust when I was a child. (Though I used to put flowers in it, cut from the garden, when I was little: a great incentive to tidy and dust my bedroom!)

Since then it's lain forgotten in a shoe-box at the back of a cupboard, surviving two or three house-moves without ever seeing the light of day. Time for it to find a new home!

It was made by Shorter & Son Ltd, Stoke on Trent, probably in the first half of the last century. It's pretty in its way, so I hope someone will enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.