A sliver of moon

A busy day but a break from ...

Clutter Clearing

This sonnet's all about procrastination;
Its words, its lines, its metre matter less
Than its purpose: to avoid, sans hesitation,
The pressing need to sort out all this mess.

My pen and paper, like a safety harness,
Protect me from reality and dread.
They distance me, provide a virtual farness
From facing fears and looking in my head

And recognising thoughts I dare not utter,
And facing facts – not everything can stay.
I have to pick and choose and clear the clutter
Not tomorrow, not next week – in fact – today!

Ignore each stomach-sinking palpitation:
Can't hide for ever in procrastination!

poem © Celia Warren 2013

Finally, on St Andrew's Day, patron saint of Scotland, thoughts go out to those who have lost loved ones and/or are suffering from injuries in the Glasgow helicopter disaster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.