Gifts of Grace

By grace

Discernment

Discernment is the first thing to go after a sleepless night => indecision.
Second is co-ordination => clumsiness.
Third is good humour => grumpiness.

All is well, yet I am out of sorts on account of a sleepless night. I heard at tea-time yesterday that there was to be an all night event at the Fruitmarket Gallery in Edinburgh in honour of Louise Bourgeoise. I'm a sucker for a last minute deal and got briefly fired up, I would just make it in time if I caught the next train. Commonsense won out - I had no real desire to go, it was just the allure of a disappearing option.

But my mind had taken in the idea - I can be so suggestible - and I could not sleep. I put on the light and wrote all night. I write so badly when I am tired, rambling and wooly to the point of incoherence - like here.

This is first light at 8.15am, it's taken me half an hour to choose one of fifty near-identical shots. Even I am getting bored with myself now.

Three weeks to the shortest day - not that I'm counting or anything :/

#am writing, and happy enough with progress but night is not my time for writing. Not now, 'though once it was the only time I could find any words at all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.