The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

St Lawrence's church, Mereworth

Mr U&L and I went to Maidstone this morning to take my broken 400d's to the camera engineer to be mended! He laughed, and said in all honesty he doesn't get to replace shutters in Canon cameras that often......so how I have managed to break 3!!!!
We decided to come back the scenic route, by that I mean not on the M26, 25 and 23! On our way to Tonbridge I could see the spire for this church poking up above the trees, it looked interesting, with urns round the top, so I turned off up the road it was on and decided to have a look, I didn't realise at that point what a truly unique and fascinating building awaited me.
Wikipedia notes ; it was built in the mid-1740's by John Fane, the 7th Earl of Westmorland following his removal of the village's 12th century place of worship to allow for enlargement of Mereworth castle.
The Palladian-style stone structure has been described as "the outstanding 18th century church in the country, in scale, ambition and architectural interest" the architect is unknown, but prominent Palladian-era figures such as Henry Flitcroft, James Gibbs and Roger Morris have been suggested.
I certainly was very beautiful with the wonderful stone columns at the entrance, and the interesting tower, even the grave yard was fascinating.
It is grade one listed, and I feel very lucky to have found it today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.