Complimentary colours...

Silver birch is a beautiful tree, but perhaps never more so than at this time of year, when the last of the golden leaves contrasts perfectly with the purplish twigs. This little plantation has featured before in my blips, and once again it provided a subject for my experiments with in-camera movement, this time using the 300mm lens.

Different speeds and directions of movement can make the same subject look totally different. This one almost looks as if it is a pastel painting, but it is pretty much SOOC, with a tiny crop and a tweaking of the levels. I'm not entirely sure how I achieved the effect, but it wasn't a very long exposure. I'm not sure I could ever reproduce it, which is perhaps why I like doing it!

When I went out to fetch Alex from Orton Pit I witnessed a beautiful, almost apocalyptic sunset. Unfortunately I'd left the house in a hurry and hadn't taken the camera, as there was no sign of anything but grey clouds from our tree-girdled garden. I did take a few shots on the iPhone, but they're just not quite the same...

Better viewed under the magnifying glass!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.