OMP

By OMP

Grey Day

Hundreds of birds (I'm not exaggerating) near and far, in flight and in the water, a virtual bird lovers dream! Now, if I could be just a little picky and ask for one more thing... some light would be so nice... please!

I went to a lake near town today hoping I'd catch someone on the shore, as I knew I'd never get a distance shot on this thick-as-soup overcast day. Upon arriving at the lake I was taken aback by the sight... 300+ birds would be my conservative estimate. The ducks were near shore and spilling out onto the parking lot. The geese were landing in flocks all over the place and I got to see/hear my first trumpeter swan; families of them mingled with the other birds. This seagull landed on a swan's head while the swan was underwater... stealing the angry swan's catch. There were a few squabbles between male mallards and crazy little buffle head ducks jetted all over the place. I was overwhelmed with all of the activity and sheer quantity of birds. Their must be quite a few stopping over as they migrate south. I plan to try again tomorrow when we are predicted to have a little sun on and off. Hopefully it will be bright enough for me to put my teleconverter back on for a little more distance!

Oddly, given the light, my two best shots were of birds in flight. This one and a shot of 3 ducks in perfect formation flying overhead. I'm excited to try again... I sure hope they are there tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.