Silly me...

I believed the weather prediction and went back to the lake with all the birds again today, so hoping for that predicted sunshine. Well, obviously the sun stayed hidden, but it wasn't a complete waste of time...

This afternoon, I was shooting this funny little diver duck (not much bigger than a bufflehead and about 2/3rds the size of a mallard). Now, I normally prefer to keep to myself when photographing, but today I drew attention... Other birders and photographers were quite excited to see this Long-tailed Duck on this lake... apparently an odd spot for him and "the Naturalists" have been watching him (whoever that is). ;) I was just happy to have a new bird to shoot... He appeared in front of me, within shooting distance(ish) (another first according to my spectators) and dove over and over again.

Once I got home I looked up the long-tailed duck and though this one doesn't display his "long tail" when floating on the surface, sure enough he has one and you can see it when he dives. Thanks to the folks at the lake, I have an identification for him... Otherwise, I never would have come up with that! He's and arctic duck that has migrated south to our area for the winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.