rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

The Sun Hides

After finishing a chicken marinade – half a kilo of thighs mixed with plenty ginger, garlic, coriander, and lime juice – that later made a curry with some finely blended onions and coconut milk I picked up from the Warwick Food Co-op earlier this term, I took my camera and my bicycle and headed into town. The idea of catching the sunset from Royal Priors took me, and when I got there I realised I had about five minutes before that beautiful yellow disk dropped below a sea of Regency housing.

I could not do the scene justice. My hands were shaking from the cold and I couldn't come close to deciding what settings to use. In hindsight, a shorter exposure could have made more sense, but then I would have hardly any detail on the buildings. I wanted to keep them recognisable at the same time as showing off the sky's glorious palette while it lasted. In the end, I played around in Photoshop quite a bit.

I'll try to perfect this photograph in the future. Sunsets are annoyingly unique. The sun touches the horizon at a different point every day, and one year later the conditions in the atmosphere that affect the clouds in the sky and the way the light refracts are different too. Hopefully one day I can capture every sunset's beauty with ease.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.