Photogen

By Photogen

Ben Lomond from Ross Priory, 3 pm

This is the view north-east across Loch Lomond to the Ben from the south-west shore of the loch. I was replete from a lovely Christmas lunch at Ross Priory and took a stroll down to the water's edge. The figures on the right are at the little jetty which sadly has subsided and is partially fenced off.

It was a magnificent day. As I arrived before lunch a flight of geese flew noisily past over the loch, but I was not quick enough to capture them. I could hear more geese cackling over in the direction of Balmaha on the opposite bank, but none appeared. So I had to content myself with this shot which shows the beautiful reflections of the Ben and gentle ripples on the water.

Ben Lomond means the beacon hill and, as the highest hill in the vicinity at 3,196 ft, it is indeed a distinctive mountain. Around 30,000 people make it to the top every year. I've yet to chalk it up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.