Marlytyz

By Marlytyz

Tales of Sat Navs and War Memorials,

"I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
Tell me why
I don’t like Mondays
I wanna shoo-oo-woo-woo-woo-oot the whole day down" (Boomtown Rats)

I left home very early today to attend what was described as family law consolidation training in Lewes. I love Lewes as a place to visit when you have plenty of time to amble around the many and varied shops but when you are on a schedule and need to find long term parking it can be a nightmare. I therefore decided to enlist the support of my trusty tom tom and in a few minutes it had identified a suitable parking area and we left Brighton full of trust and optimism.
I was mildly concerned when, in a very authoritative voice, it instructed me to ignore the exit for Lewes. It must be taking me a back way, I thought, thinking about how I would brag to my nearest how I had now found a way to avoid the traffic in the centre. But when, on the A27, and apparently en-route to Hastings it again instructed me to make a U turn I knew we were in trouble. It then told me to turn left on the dual carriageway and tried to take me in to a private golf course before we both admitted defeat and followed the road signs. I then had the usual hunt around the town for the scarce long term car parking and arrived hot and bothered for the training.

On the way out I spotted the art nouveau war memorial, bathed in the setting sun, and still covered with wreaths and poppies from Remembrance Sunday. I felt ashamed at myself for worrying about petty things like getting lost and being a few minutes late for an event. Mondays' aren't at all bad really

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.