[blowfish]

By blowfish

court

Thanks for the response yesterday (c'mon, you should get in on this too). Anyhow, we have completed the holiday card, thanks to Leah's great Photoshop/Illustrator skills. The proofs should arrive in the mail very soon and then I'll put in the full order, assuming they look decent enough.

I had a nice forty minute ride today to clear the head. It both worked and didn't. I also didn't get a whole lot of shots today of much else besides this, so you get to see my mug two days in a row now. Oh joy. I wanted to try my hand again at one of these super wide bicycle riding shots. Sadly, Leah wasn't with me this time.

Ah, December in Fort Worth. It means I get to ride my bike in shorts and a t-shirt, but also makes me miss true seasons even more. Also, pretty sure the list of relatively large urban centers where you have to dodge pile upon pile of horseshit on the walk/bike path is a small one. This will forever be one of my enduring memories of this town, and one of its most potent (literally) symbols: the collision of cultures. Actually rode by the culprits this time--three decked out cowfolks on horses, who gave me a somewhat dirty look as I sped past. I know they are entitled to use this trail system as much as me, they pay the taxes, etc. But honestly, fucking horses on a cement trail--which is frustrating considering there is a crushed pebble trail that runs parallel to the paved one. Then again, I don't know dick about horses, so maybe those little pebbles get wedged up in their metal shoes or something. I don't know, seems like it could be a problem. But what I do know is how strange it still seems to slalom horse dung on an urban commuter path nearly every time I head out. And the smell isn't something to write home about. I suppose this is all made even more ironic because I had just finished talking with someone about matters related to place and things distinctly Texan therein. Fascinating, this. Or not at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.