CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

My Hanukah Honey.

When I introduced this man to my father as my boyfriend dad started asking questions. "Where are you from?"
"Brooklyn"
"What about your family?"
"Brooklyn"
"I don't think I caught your last name..."
"Darby" (He looks as British as a dreidel)
This went on and as my father wouldn't ask the question he wanted answered my honey wouldn't give him the answer unless he asked it. Now I didn't know that my father was a racist until I was in college. I give him full marks for that. At least he knew better than to teach his kids such rubbish. Why he felt it OK to start acting like such an ass when I was 40 I'll never know

But now for what this blip is really about...tradition. The tradition of lighting candles at Hanukah is centuries old. None of my family traditions are so ancient (likely a good thing as they used to hang actual people from trees at the winter solstice. Tough on neighborly relations) I'm not Jewish and I'm not thinking of converting. He's not likely to either despite the fact he doesn't keep kosher. He is proud of his traditions. So we will finish up the Hanukhah ham, make some latkes, and listen for dad to spin in his grave...rather like a dreidel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.