rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

A Reflection

I called my dad this morning. I hadn't spoken to him since April 2012. At first he neither recognised my voice nor understood what was happening. He seemed overjoyed to hear from me. I believe I was on this bus by the time we hung up the call. We definitely dried up things to say to each other long before then. I told him he should keep in touch.

This is a shot I attempted to take a few days earlier. I love reflections and I'm still a little peeved that the gorgeous me-and-Hannah-in-a-lift snap didn't make it into my blip that day. It's good to upload a snap of my camera in its own shot at last.

I love the colours of the new Stagecoach Unibus. The gargantuan company – who, despite controlling the majority of UK bus services outside London, seemingly have no idea how to run a bus service – picked up fourteen or so of these Alexander Dennis bad boys a few years ago. They're an upgrade from the former model and don't yet smell of farts.

It's the decor, however, that I find fascinating: all that orange and blue, as though their marketing department looked at a plethora of movie posters and filtered out everything that wasn't blocks of colour. Coupled with the Unibus scheme's red, there's a sense that Stagecoach Warwickshire believes its student passengers – who inject over £2million into the company every year – have an infantile love for bright, primary colours. They might not be wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.