One Step at a Time

By thepoacher

Breaking the Rules

I had one of those moments of clarity today that come occasionally and give you a sense of calm as you take the shot. After a couple of dull days the low sun had it's hat on this afternoon and the rowing club was out making most of it.

''I'm going to shoot straight into the sun' I thought to myself ' and I want those guys in silhouette'. Camera out, underexpose (a lot), compose, shoot, result. One of my favourite shots for a while. The bird flying above the sun was an added bonus.

Looking at the shot on the back of the camera I was already looking forwards to seeing it on the big screen and tweaking it to get the best out of it. So when I finally did I thought I might crop it a bit - then thought no. Then I thought I'd .. no, probably not. Or maybe I'd, no need. What about a little, not really. And in the end, I have done absolutely nothing with this picture. It is exactly as it hit the sensor of my humble Lumix at 14:01 this afternoon. And that fact alone is a joy in itself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.