First Tram On Princes Street

Well finally the first tram since 1956 arrived in Princes Street last night and as it was close to midnight tomorrows blip will be another one I noticed it at Haymarket around five o'clock and I was told that it would be on Princes Street around midnight as my second train to Glasgow an HST was only running on One Power Car I was asked to make the decision if I was still going to take it and it was also running 35 minutes late normally it would not be a problem and I would take it but on this occasion I took the sensible decision to refuse on the grounds that the weather was closing in and the long climb from Glasgow Central to Benhar near Fauldhouse was all uphill with a slippery rail would have the potential for getting stuck so I chose to cancell the service so sorry to those inconvienenced but it's not often we get the chance to do it and I was totally justified as when it came in I went to the opposite end to take it to the depot only to find I was unable to regain power so after going through all the fault finding and my schematic sheets I was able to regain power to the power car after about 45 minutes even although the engine was not running in this power car the other power has but for some reason it wasn't playing ball but in the end I got it to the depot and when I booked off I parked my car in George Street and made my way to Princes Street about ten to midnight just in time to catch the tram passing the Mound on it's first run with the Iconic Edinburgh Castle in the Background so here it is the First Tram to run along Edinburgh's Princes Street and as it finally got to it's destination at York Place I met up with blip family and fellow subs Emh, Jonathan and Eyelad and it was nice to meet them and have a good chat so after more photo's it was off home before the impending storm that was brewing off the West Coast blew in so movie for the day on this special occasion is "City Trams :Scrapyard Beakout 2012" See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.