Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Helper

Tonight we started a project of building a raised garden bed to cover an area near our fence where grass doesn't seem to want to grow (but where I've had good luck with tulips in the past). I'm looking forward to having a small garden area dedicated to flowers, since I use all my current space for veggies. We didn't make it through the whole project before dusk fell (um, and before the drill needed to recharge) - but as my loving husband noted, "Well, we got the project started, so now that guarantees it will get finished." (As opposed to the lumber sitting in the garage for a year, I suppose.)

In any case, I was touched by what a good little helper E was. He has long been fascinated by tools, and watches with rapt attention whenever there is a home improvement project in the works. As he watched Dad drill the holes tonight, he would reach out and gently brush away the resulting sawdust each time, careful to keep his fingers away from the tools when they were being used, but oh so eager to be involved.

Plus, who can resist his daring sense of fashion for the evening project?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.