Life Uncommon

By lifeuncommon

Prints

I've been absent from blip for a couple of days not because there's been nothing to photograph, but because my husband needed to use the camera for a work assignment, and thus it hasn't been as handy for me to snap when inspiration strikes. I was back to carrying it with me today and got this shot of A and her friend H, working on a printmaking project at school. (I volunteered to help out - they were making covers for poetry books that they will add to all year.) It was a bit of a crazy experience, having 22 first-graders go crazy with paint with only 3 grown-ups to supervise and assist. The kids really seemed to enjoy themselves though, and there were some beautiful prints made!

Aside from printmaking, our recent days have been filled with lots of activity, mostly in a good way.

Today, though, I'm feeling somber and reflective, due to some tragic news for a longtime family friend. In some ways it is offering a reminder to be mindful of the beauty and joy in every moment possible - and in other ways, it just makes me hyper-aware of the sadness and injustice in this journey called life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.