Hippity Hoppity

More elevated in large. ;)

I love those days when you can catch these little birds doing funny things. And today was just such a day!

I woke up to WIND howling and trees bending; it did this for most of the day. Not the best conditions for nature photography. The birds were hidden, not even a one on my feeders. It seemed pointless to spread the seeds on the railing (as I usually do) for it would probably all blow away. But I took chance and did it anyway and as I did I shouted out loud "Hey, where are all the birds?" Feeling a little silly, I went in and started my lunch. As it turns out, its a good thing I eat with my camera at hand... those little birds must have heard my complaint! One after another, different birds showed up to the seed buffet. Aside from this hoppin' chickadee, I caught a jay getting caught in the wind. Seconds later the shy red-bellied woodpecker came for seeds of all things (I've never seen that before). Then this downy went from tiny and thin to round and puffy when the wind kicked up.

So, I guess the lesson here is: When there isn't anyone around to photograph, all you have to do is ask... Wouldn't it be nice if it was that easy? :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.