Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Winter glen monochrome

This is a bit of a first for me - or maybe a second; I think I've posted one monochrome photo before. In my childhood, one of my greatest joys was to be allowed to help my father in his darkroom as he processed the photos he'd taken - or better still, that I had taken - with either his Leica II or the heavy Rolleiflex . I can still remember the smell of the chemicals, and the feel of the paper as I pushed it around with a plastic spatula in a tray of hypo. They were, of course, black and white - the colour photos were slides, processed by Kodak.

But to today. This is upper Glen Massan this afternoon. There was a slight drizzle that might have been snow - it was certainly cold enough, and there was snow on the verges as well as on the hills round the glen. What I like about the monochrome photo, however, is the wonderful crinkly sharpness of the small branches on the right-hand tree that frames the glen, echoed by the sharp little spikes of the conifers in the middle distance on the left. I've taken this picture so many times - but it was good to find something different in it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.