Beth Tweddle

This morning I got the train into work and felt not to bad after my fall yesterday. Although by the time I got to Glasgow I was well roasted and felt nauseous. Why can our trains never seem to get the right temperature?

Tonight it was wet and cold and Glasgow was grid locked with a number of events taking place around the city centre to celebrate the life of the revered statesman, Nelson Mandela.

On the way from George Square I noticed a film crew outside GoMA. When I got closer some young lads noticed them and interrupted the filming by going straight in front of the camera and saying "you're that gymnast aren't you, it's Beth isn't, I know it's Tweedle and why are you here, its freezing" Beth, the film crew and myself all burst out laughing. Amazingly the crew then kindly took some shots of Beth with the lads. They then finished their interview with Beth, which was a promotional film for the World Cup Gymnastics Championships in Glasgow this weekend. In the poor light conditions I managed to take one shot of Beth. First time I have used the cameras wi-fi facility and it works like a dream.

Beth Tweddle is arguably Britain's most successful gymnast of all time. Her record-breaking medal haul began aged 17 at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester, where she collected a gold and two silvers. Throughout the next decade, she went on to win more than 20 golds  in major championships throughout the world.

Tweddle's achievements were made all the more remarkable by the fact she battled a knee problem to remain successful in a sport in which it is rare to compete much beyond the age of 20.

28 year Beth announced her retirement in August this year.

British Olympic Association chairman Sebastian Coe labelled her "an inspiration and a role model for a generation".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.