Nancy (Murdoch) Smith

This morning Skelmorlie Curling Club had their Bonspeil at Greenacres Curling Club. I played but under a lot of pain, as I have fractured my ribs from the fall on Thursday. Struggled during the first session, but after a double whisky and some paracetamol my game improved.

After the game the New Zealand team arrived for training and the GB's Women's Olympic Curling Coach Nancy Smith was there. Before they started doing any work I managed to persuade Nancy for me to take some pictures of her on the ice. So day two of Olympian blips.

Nancy is the sister of David Murdoch the Scottish and GB Curling skip. She competed at Curling from age 12 and retired 4 years ago to commit professionally in Elite Coaching. Highlight was winning the Scottish title in 2001. Low point was losing out in Semi final at World Championships to deny qualifying for the Olympics in Salt Lake City.

I wish both our teams all the best for the Olympic Games in Sochi, Russia in February 2014.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.