The Number of the Beast

Today is my 666 blip, so I thought that I ought to find a ‘Beast’ to photograph. Originally I was going to take a picture of Dougal with his mouth open and his fangs exposed, saying that this friendly little pussy cat was a beast, at least so far as small mammals were concerned.

However, I had recently been given the old identification plate from the single transformer that feeds our house after quite a lot of overhead and underground cables, which means that we are independent of most other electrical feeds. Today the power went of suddenly on three occasions each bringing out my residual current circuit breaker; each time I could find no fault. Eventually at about 1500 hours the power went off for a much longer period and it was quite apparent that it was a supply problem and we had suffered of number of serious spikes. The power proceeded to go off and on, on a number of further occasions and I had to dig out the gas lanterns for illumination once it got dark; I am still not fit enough to repair the mountings on my standby diesel generator. When the power did come on, the voltage was low, so that some of our modern energy efficient lights would not function properly, but eventually the voltage did rise to its correct nominal value and the power remained on. I thought therefore that the ‘Beast’ was perhaps our electrical supply and that the old identification plate was indeed the number of it, even though it is not 666. So it is my blip for today to remind me of all the electrical problems we have had and the time that I have wasted.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.