Clear -- and Very Cold!

Just before 9 a.m. today, I went to Lake Padden in hopes of catching a bit of the cloud color still hanging on after sunrise. I missed that, but did see a cormorant having a joyous bath, and then returned home with frozen fingers and toes.

The sunshine looked so inviting this afternoon that I decided to stop off at Squalicum Harbor after errands downtown, despite the cold temperature (24F / -4 C) and strong wind I'd faced there. I hadn't appreciated how much protection from that wind the not-very-tall buildings downtown afforded until I stepped out of my car at the harbor and nearly was blown away!

Mount Baker was glowing in the sunshine, but there were more boats than usual tied up at the docks, and almost no people around. It was clear why that was the case as I battled my way along the paved path, trying to find a good spot to stop and take a few shots. My fingers quickly went numb and my brain followed shortly afterward, so with five photos taken, I headed back into the wind and to my car, which looked like a refuge indeed.

I hope there are enough shelters open tonight to provide a temporary refuge for those without homes and cars, as the forecast is for a low of 14 F (-10 C).

(Approximately 560 people in this county are homeless, and 37% are families with children, according to "A Home for Everyone," Whatcom County Coalition to End Homelessness 2013 Annual Report. The Interfaith Coalition's Severe Weather Shelters are open from 5 p.m. to 8 a.m., and the Lighthouse Mission has extended its daytime Drop-in Center hours, as well as offering cold weather shelter at the mission.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.