Everyday Life

By Julez

Just a rainy night in Lincoln..

Saturday 7 December 2013: Just a rainy night in Lincoln..
Walking to work tonight, the eeriest thing happened. One minute all was normal, the next I knew something was different, not right. But what? Suddenly I realised all around me was dark. No lights coming from the flats, the street lights had gone out, just darkness everywhere save for the odd passing car. It was quite surreal. Once I got into town it was even weirder. A few shops were lit by backup security lights, but everything else was dark, and people were everywhere, all wondering what was happening. (Primark, weirdly, was as bright as ever - they apparently have their own power supply!)

I arrived at work to find Rez in a complete panic. The power was back on, but the kitchen strip lights were barely flickering, and the electrics on the pans kept cutting out. Then it all went off again...Once it was back on, after just a few minutes, normal service was resumed. By then we were half an hour behind schedule with a bunch of annoyed customers outside!

These people are all local, they knew they had no power in their homes, so how on Earth did they think we could possibly be open on time in pitch darkness and with no pans to cook with? Once sorted we had a very busy night, due to it being West End Lights night (Which I had hopefully planned to blip...oh, well - maybe next year!) and the Xmas market! Dead on my feet by home-time!

I'm posting this on Saturday as we had no internet all night! And it is not the photo I wanted as, in all the chaos I had completely forgotten about taking photos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.