Frozen in Time

Very deceptive day today! The sun is out, the sky is blue & it looks wonderful outside....until you actually go OUT...7 degrees F with a chill factor of 5 below zero, & it feels every bit of it! We went to the top of one of the bluffs overlooking the lake, & the wind was so cold it made my eyes water! There are small pieces of ice starting to form over the surface of the Lake, & the inlets are pretty much frozen over. Interesting fact: Lake Michigan has totally frozen over twice--once in 1936 & once in 1963. (quite a feat, as the lake is about 30 miles accross & about 300 miles long!) I took this picture at Grant Park Beach on the inlet. I loved how the tree reflected in the ice, & how deep blue the ice looks! Had to take it today, as the weathermen are predicting 1-2 inches of snow beginning late on Sunday. (I put a few more shots from today in my blipfolio under "Landscape") :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.