Holdin' Out for a Hero

This morning I left sunny South Devon in glorious sunshine and headed up to North Devon to visit my brother. The reason for visiting (apart from he's a nice bloke and I like to see him) was that he's had a letter through his door saying that a historic car rally would be coming through today. The Historic Endurance Rallying Organisation (HERO) run a Lands End to John o'Groats rally each year so it seemed a good idea for a photo shoot.

As I headed up the A30 the glorious light gradually faded around Okehampton until I had to put my lights then my windscreen wipers on but it looked better up ahead amd there was a beautiful rainbow as I reached my brother's house.

We faffed around putting the world to rights for a while and waiting in hope of the rain stopping. Then when we heard something rorty coming past, we headed down to Dipper Mill were we could catch them coming over the hump back bridge.

After taking some shots we moved down a bit further and then to a couple more places including this muddy lane in my blip. I like this rear view of the Porsche. I'd noticed they seemed to like to put the hammer down and show off here and this shot with the mud spraying up and the fern waving really amuses me. In case you think I've only got shots of the cars skedaddling out of shot, there are a few others on Flickr if you'd care to take a look.

Anway, rotten weather which really tested the weather sealing of our cameras but an enjoyable day. Hope you're having a good weekend too. Hit LARGE if you want but stand back or you'll get splattered!

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.