Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

My Little Chickadee...

Well, much to my disappointment, we awoke to NO snow this morning. I was really looking forward to a change of scenery, something to kick start my mojo. But, at least the sun came out which was a big improvement over the gloom of the past few days.

Snapped this just a short while ago, as the sun was starting to get to that nice low spot on the horizon, creating such wonderful light. I always have a hard time photographing the chickadees - not because they are scarce (they are here every day), or because they are fast and flitty (which they are), but because their sharply contrasting faces give me fits in terms of exposure. It seems that usually either the eye "disappears" in the mask, or the white on the cheeks is completely blown out. So, while this isn't perfect, it is an improvement. The white is still a bit overexposed, but at least the eyes pop out.

My second choice today was this shot of a Holly jolly blue jay - did I pick the right one?

Thanks for your rather resounding response to yesterday's acrobatic squirrel - much to my surprise, he made it to the Spotlight page! Thank you for that.

There was a sighting of the little hawk again today - I caught a flash of motion and a dark blur heading towards the patio. When I went out the door, he took off in a whoosh of wings and apparently empty talons. It is amazing how fast they are - wow. And very happy that he didn't see the little woodpecker who was frozen in place on the deck, not moving so much as an eye lash.

Heating up some leftover stew tonight - you know its' always better the second day, right? Plus, it gives me a night off from cooking. Heck, we may start a fire and just snuggle up - and by "we", I mean hubs!

Happy Saturday...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.