MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Acorn Antics

Jazz and I went down the field after lunch hunting for bugs. I got a moth that turned out to be dead and some flies. When our horsey friends in the donkey field spotted us they went crazy, galloping up and down and kicking up their back legs.

Once they had quietened down I stood under an oak tree togging them reaching over the fence nibbling at a wild holly bush. It crossed my mind that a close up of a horse eating holly might make a different Christmas card. Then I spotted an acorn impaled on a strand of barbed wire. What's the chance of that happening?

As I focussed on the acorn the young, light grey horse approached, the older dark grey at its side. It felt the acorn with its lips then re-positioned its mouth and got the nut between its teeth, eventually yanking it free and crunching it up loudly and with relish. I got a series of pics. :)

Acorns are fine for horses to eat in moderation as long as they have plenty of grass and other horsey foods to eat. They can get a taste for acorns though and gorge on them enough to make themselves ill. Hope this is not the start of something bad for my horsey friend.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.