Sing It For The Ivy

My daughter and I took my granddaughter to Westfield this afternoon to get her some Uggs for Christmas. We had a nice lunch and some female bonding.

I took some pics from the 9th floor of the car park but they weren't very good. As we left the moon rose, hanging impressively over Stratford, huge and yellow. I was driving so had to wait until I got home to tog it.

I took a few pics showing the rabbit in the moon but have opted for this silhouette of an ivy fruit against the waning gibbous. Quite appropriate. In the carol The Holly And The Ivy, holly represents masculine qualities and ivy feminine. Villages used to hold singing contests with the men praising holly and disparaging ivy and women the opposite. Needless to say more of the men's songs have been recorded than those of the women. :)

"Good ivy, what birds hast thou?
None but the owlet that cries how, how.
Nay, ivy, nay, it shall not be I wis;
Let holly have the mastery, as the manner is."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.