BRITTLE

I had in mind going Christmas shopping today but the football was at an awkward time - 12.45pm kick off - so I decided just to stay at home. It was an away match at Manchester United. I listened on the radio. I wasn't hopeful of a win for Newcastle as the last time they beat Manchester United at Old Trafford was in 1972. However Newcastle did win - by one goal to nil. Neil was here watching the match on the computer - live streaming. However he was about 3 mins behind the radio commentary I was listing to in the kitchen. I was cheering for the goal which hadn't happened yet as Neil was concerned. Then he caught up and we were both cheering.

I have been doing more online shopping. However I seem to get sidetracked from looking for Christmas presents and end up buying things for me. I must try to FOCUS.

Today's Forum challenge is brittle.

Brittle - easily cracked, snapped, or broken. Fragile.

I have blipped a bone china cup made by Paragon. The Paragon China Company was a British manufacturer of bone china from 1919 to 1960, based in Stoke-on - Trent. I remember buying this cup at an Antiques Fair in The Guidhall in Newcastle. Douglas and I used to go to these Fairs regularly in the 1980's. Even when Becky was a new born baby I used to take her in a baby sling. Then when she was a toddler it was Neil in the baby sling.

This cup is kept in a glass fronted display cabinet so its safe from the kitties. However true to form Tino had to investigate while I was photographing it. Here is the shot with ADDED CAT

Something else from the list 26 Glorious Things Newcastle Gave The World

The Toon Army - supporters of Newcastle United Football Club

The home of Newcastle United - St. James’ Park - stands over the city like a temple and despite the team being trophy - less since 1955 it attracts the third largest average attendance in the Premier League (50,061 a week last year). Football-mad Geordies are also one of largest (and most vocal) sets of away supporters - despite having further to travel around the country than any other Premier League team over a season.

( The Toon Army would be happy today )

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.