CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

Portrait of a 70's divorce

I'll tell the short version of this portrait, but it will still take awhile. If you want the micro version, I'm the little girl.

My mother, despite an acrimonious divorce, had decided to get some portraits of my brother and I to send to dad as gifts from us (the kids, not mom). the photographer managed to talk mom into sitting with us for a few pictures but she wasn't happy about it. She had had quite enough of 'Men" telling her what she could and couldn't do. One episode I remember from the time was that she was told that to get a store credit card that though she had a good job, paid her bills and was otherwise a responsible human being, her father would have to cosign on the card...she was 36 years old.

So some instinct in that photographer, some light inside him, caused him to press the bulb at this instant.

When the proofs came back this was the portrait we all agreed on. So Mom took her order to the Photographer. This, this, that and this one. The Man said, " You don't want that. You won't like it when it is enlarged."
Mother told him, " Iwant it and I want it BIG. How Big can you make it."

It is about 16 by 20. and I loved it, I love it still.

I'm told that there is a Photo challenge this month and today's word is 'Brittle'. Here ya go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.