LeeAnne

By LeeAnne

MrJohn...

You can argue all you like whether this place is about the photo aspect or the journal aspect but for me it will always be about the community.

I've had such a lovely weekend in very good company. Thank you for a lovely weekend. You are a gentleman.

We got up early this morning and headed down the coast to Gosford for breakfast and to secure the obligatory haggis purchase before heading down to North Berwick for a wander along the beach.

We had a conversation earlier in the week about how people in Edinburgh seem not to be particularly receptive to having their portraits taken. I stopped asking people here because they always said no. I have no problems asking or taking portraits when I'm away from home and having success so I'm not sure my approach is the problem. We talked about it yesterday and someone (sorry can't remember who) said that the local accent may be a factor. I've never thought of it like that before but I'm thinking there may be something in it. A couple of people have said no to MrJohn since he arrived on Friday but the majority of people have happily let him take their photo...

I had a go of his wide angle lens and I instantly changed my mind about saving my Christmas money for Glastonbury and having a new lens instead. Especially after I found out yesterday that we're going to see the Millau Viaduct on our trip in April!! How fabulous is that?! I've been poking round on the internet and there's a visitor centre... I shall hopefully have time to squeeze that in while the boys put in the miles!

We saw the Lifeboat crew down in the harbour on their training sessions and bumped into Sands so caught up with her before we had an ice cream... well you can't go to the seaside and not have a 99 can you? Then we stopped at Longniddry to watch the kite surfers... with my new wellies in the boot of the car I proceeded to get wet feet walking through the incoming tide to get a closer view of them. Doh!

After all the shots I took today, I decided that this is my favourite with the Bass Rock peeking in behind MrJohn. There was ice-cream all over that 'tache about three seconds after this was taken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.