I am an uncle again.

This is a strange/sad/wonderful/lonely story.

I am not usually one to share personal stories with many people.. But you... are family.

Today is the 4th Anniversary of my mum's passing.. As many will know, it's a sad day. I always phone my older sister on this day because she was my mum's primary carer and did an amazing amazing job in the last year of mum's life. I wanted to link this to an archived pic of my mum but for some reason the pics all have the date of 2014.

My mother was an amazing lady. I am one of 14 children (10 boys and 4 girls). She was a tireless mother. She worked (more than) full time to look after us and also worked as a nurse in aged care facilities. As an aside.. she always wanted to do midwifery but kept getting pregnant. No one I have ever met gave more love to so many. She lived for her family and loved us with all her heart. She had her faults but they were outweighed a thousand fold by her wonderful giving spirit. She was 4 ft 10 with the heart someone ten times her size. No matter what.. she was ALWAYS there.

Anyway, as I said I phoned my older sister to let her know I was thinking of her today and she told me that my youngest sister had given birth to a beautiful baby girl last night. I am now an uncle 26 times over. It brought home the fact that I need to keep in more contact with home. I didn't even know my sister was pregnant. How bad is that.

So like I said.. strange/sad/wonderful and lonely story.

Thank you for reading... my other family. Take care

Kevin

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.