Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Raspberry Ripples

Late in the morning, while I was busy working on my Upwood Meadows report, the soft fruit that I'd ordered arrived. There were four blueberry plants (two of which are Christmas presents) and eighteen raspberry canes. This meant a trip to the garden centre to buy some bonemeal and compost suitable for acid-loving plants. Pete came with me to help carry things, and we ended up buying even more half-price bulbs. He plumped for some decidedly garish red and yellow parrot tulips while I went for a much softer multi-headed tulip that starts yellow and then becomes blushed with pink and red. We both agreed on some more subtly coloured Fritillaries and Dutch Irises, as well as a couple of varieties of dwarf Narcissus.

The rest of the very short afternoon was spent clearing the area where the raspberries will be planted. Alex came and helped, and we got most of the weeds out, though couch is a perennial problem and by the time we'd been over it once the light was too low to see whether we'd missed any roots. The soil was in lovely condition - soft and crumbly. This is a rare phenomenon in our clayish soil, which us usually either wet and squidgy in winter, or baked hard in summer. I think the applications of compost over the years are finally bearing fruit.

The sun had set by the time Rosie and I set out for our walk, and there was a peachy glow as we arrived at The Rowing Lake. I met a young man who'd been photographing the setting sun and was going back to his car. He was amazed how beautiful it was here, having travelled over from Shropshire to visit friends. I was itching to get away and take my own photographs!! I think he left too early really, because the colour became more intense, before gradually fading away to an orange blush with Venus shining brightly in the western sky.

This evening we've all been making flavoured vodkas (Chrismas pudding and maple toffee) ready for Christmas. Alex and Pete made two jars of sloe gin, which should be ready by February. Luckily we still have enough of last years's batch for this Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.