An Unkindness of Ravens

By Nevermore

Cicada

This very small cicada (maybe 25mm long) was in a callistemon tree – not a very loud singer and certainly not the same sort as produced the shell from a few days ago. But it shone gold in the sun, so it might be something similar to a bronze bark buzzer... or not. (I haven't found a source with more than a handful of different cicadas, so hard to tell exactly).

BIGGER
I am quite pleased, as this is the first time I have managed to photograph a live, in situ cicada!

And I came across a butterfly I had never seen before, enjoying my buddleia. I wasn't able to get many shots before it flew off, with a flash of brilliant blue from the top of its wings, which had been closed before. It's either a fiery jewel or a moonlight jewel, or some other similar jewel – they all look very similar to me! It's here in my folio if any butterfly lovers want to see – the wing patterns are quite lovely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.