25 Years in The Neth

Yay! I did it! 25 years in this beautiful country and still no police record ... hahaha!

The weather when I arrived on 10 Dec 1988 was grey, cold and wet. Hubby and I were engaged and I could already pronounce words in Dutch because he had sent me 3 cassette tapes and a book and I had practiced religiously with my walkman. The vocabulary grew the moment I settled down here and within a year I was speaking without an accent and could carry on a decent conversation.

It has been one fab learning experience and what fun I've had! Such an adventure it's been! I also grew up very quickly, for sure. One of my blessings was that I had hardly left anything behind.

Many more jubilees are coming ... we both look forward to them all ... and they'll be celebrated here, if all goes well ... and in the meantime, a dinner tomorrow night ...

The weather today was brilliant, the sunset this evening a dream ... but doubtless, Farishta will capture it excellently! :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.