The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Wilts and Berks Canal in Calne

It has been a while since I walked between Castlefields and Berhills Farm, having put off by the racket from the skate and roller-blade park at the Castlefields end among other things. However, after my walk into Calne, shopping and friend visiting, I did just that, and was pleasantly surprised to find the roller-bladers all absent.

The first picture I had taken was at the Town Gardens on the way in, and I ventured into Castlefields Park an hour or so later. I'd chosen the path on the north side of the restored side of the Wilts & Berks canal that led through the nature reserve beyond Chaveywell Bridge. These mallards were at the far end of this well-walked path at a wider section, where barges would have turned in the past.

Intending a circular walk I followed the wooded path that continues from there up through some windfall apples and comes out at a gate onto a straight path at the top, keeping an eye out for any signs as I remembered something about ownership having changed, but encountered none. However, when I eventually reached the gate it was closed and padlocked, with a sign on the far side that read Private Land - No Access. I'm told Green Square bought the land intending to build an old people's home but ran into access problems and did not develop the land. I retraced my steps to the corner of Berhills Farm land, and clambered underneath some barbed wire, emerging near an oak that was still in glorious autumnal leaf.

L.
10.12.2013

Blip #1120
Consecutive Blip #002
Day #1352

Alternatives:
Mallard Pair
Monochrome Ducks
More Ducks
The Woods

A Walk Along The Wilts And Berks At Calne, 7 December 2013 (Flickr set)

Lenses: Pentax 50mm f1.8, Pentax 55-300mm


Wilts and Berks Canal series

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Stan Tracey Quartet - Starless And Bible Black (1965)
R.I.P. Stan Tracey (30 December 1926 – 6 December 2013)

One year ago: Smokey, 2052 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.