Some things change . . .

A day in Leeds, travelling on the train from Appleby. A lovely journey there this morning, as the sun shone over the Dales. Wonderful lunch at Jamie’s, a bit of shopping and a visit to an exhibition of Anthony Browne’s work in children’s books.*

This is a rather splendid Christmas starburst in a shopping mall in the centre of the city. I know Leeds well, having spent much of my life living close by, but every time I visit now something has changed. As far as I can recall, this shopping centre was once a back street.

. . . . and some things stay the same.


*It’s on at the City Museum until 12th January and well worth a visit if you have the slightest interest in children’s books. He did all the Gorilla books, as well as many others. I saw the exhibition at the Children’s Book Centre - Seven Stories, in Newcastle a year or so ago and was delighted to have the chance to see it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.