But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Night Life.

Still very busy - and having camera trouble as well. The thing seems to have started picking up strange settings which are hidden in the deep dark recesses of its menu structure. I can't, for the life of me, understand how the "SCP" access was altered, there's nothing in the manual about it, but that was one of the problems and I don‘t even know what it is; saving data as RAW was switched off as well, something that I never go near, but it was needed for this shot so I had to go back out into the cold and re-shoot.

Behold, (drum roll please) the Christmas Lights of Roslin, all five of them; actually there's one turned round the wrong way, so it's barely visible, and a couple more around the corner, that brings the total up to eight. Last year a couple of them flashed, but we have to do without that sort of gayety this time. Had I blipped this yesterday before 8:00 pm (as was intended) it would have been a different sight; as a result of last Thursday's power cut, all the decorations, except one, had their switch-on time delayed by four hours which made that one look very sorry for itself.

Instead of doing my blip duty, I was honouring a last minute invitation to a reception at The Chapel; so there I was eating vast quantities of small things being served on pieces of slate and explaining to The Earl why Mrs TD's wine glass needs topping up when it is still half full and he was explaining to me why it was so bitterly cold sleeping in The Castle. By the time herself and I arrived home it didn't feel as though it would be safe to drive a camera, so I had a little nap in the chair before going to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.